Ubuntu 7.10 Features

Version 7.10 of Ubuntu (Gutsy Gibbon) is suppose to be released in October, 2007. I was curious as to what new features it would include, so I did some looking and found a great list of new features right on the Ubuntu web site.

I haven’t tried the beta of Gutsy Gibbon, but I’m working on downloading the ISO now. I’ll write more once I get a chance to give it a try.

Here’s some of the features I found interesting:

  • New version of GNOME (version 2.20)
    I’m not sure, but Kubuntu may include the new KDE 4
  • Compiz Fusion included and enabled by default.
  • Built in desktop search
  • Improved plug in manager for Firefox
  • Graphical configuration of the X server (this has been a needed feature for a while)
  • Automatic printer installation
  • NTFS writing (I’m curious to see how well this will work)

    You can see the full list here.

    This should be an exciting release. I look forward to trying out all the new features.

Leave a comment